Skip to content
Home » Jainism » Jain Symbols » Om


    The Sanskrit word Om is made up of five sounds and letters; a, a, ä, u, and m.

    • The first letter “a” represents Arihants (human beings who have eradicated all four Ghäti Karma. It includes Tirthankars who have established religious order) ·
    • The second “a” represents A-shareeri (A-shareeri means without physical body, liberated soul or Siddha or perfected being).
    • The third letters “ä” represents Ächärya (Ascetic who is the head of congregation).
    • The fourth letter “u” represents Upädhyäy (Ascetic teacher).
    • The fifth letter “m” represents Muni (Sädhu/Sädhvi or monks/ nuns who are initiated (who have taken Dikshä) by taking five Mahävrat (great vows).

    Hence Om represents the salutation to the five revered personalities in Jainism. Om is a short form of the Namokar Mahämantra.

    error: Jain Heritage Centres - Celebrating Jain Heritage.....Globally!