During the times of 20th Tirthankara of Jainism, Lord Munisuvrata as a part of the Navaratri celebrations lot of animal sacrifice was practiced on the ashtamai day and the animals were offered to Goddess Durga as bali. This day was called as Durgashtami. This act of animal sacrifice was stopped by Lord Munisuvrata and special […]

Kshamavani Parva – Annual Forbearance Function

The ten-day celebrations pertaining to the ten universal supreme virtues culminate in the practical observance of the Annual Forbearance function. During these celebrations every Jain daily devotes most of his time in prayer and worship getting rid of the mundane duties of practical life. The celebrations extend from the 5th day of the bright half […]

Uttama Brahmacharya Dharma – Supreme Chastity

– Muni Sri Kamkumarnandi Maharaj ‘The ills of life are cured, if you root out lust from your heart.’ Brahmacarya is a word with a very wide scope. It means maintaining sexual purity by assuming the strict aspect of celibacy. (Brahma) means soul, which is chaste, enlightened, eternal and blissful. To become fully engrossed in […]

Uttama Akinchanya Dharma – Supreme Non-Attachment

– Muni Sri Kamkumarnandi Maharaj He, who abandons the evil thought of attachment to worldly objects, can alone give up possessions. Assuredly, the non-appearance of attachment and other passions in Ahimsa, and their appearance is ‘Himsa’. Na kinchan iti akinchana Not to have the least (Parigraha) attachment is known as Akinchanya (non-attachment). The word ‘akinchan‘ […]

Uttama Tyaga Dharma – Supreme Renunciation

– Muni Sri Kamkumarnandi Maharaj ‘Renunciation of all possessions is Ahimsa; and appropriation of all possessions is Himsa’ The word ‘tyag’ is derived from the root ‘tyaj’ by the addition of the suffix ‘gham‘. The word renunciation means to cast aside, to give up, to get rid of, to discard and to leave. Some wise […]

Uttama Tapa Dharma -Supreme Austerities or Penance

– Muni Sri Kamkumarnandi Maharaj ‘Penance is a cataract that washes away all blemishes and purges the soul of all karmic matter’ The word ‘tap’ (Penance or Austerity) is derived from the root ‘tap’ by the addition of the suffix ‘ach’. The word austerity conveys the sense – to vanquish the enemies of soul; heating […]

Uttama Samyama Dharma – Supreme Self-Restraint

– Muni Sri Kamkumarnandi Maharaj ‘Self-restraint is the key to eternal happiness’ The word ‘Samyam’ is derived from the root ‘yam’ with preposition ‘sam‘ by the addition of suffix  ‘ap’.  The word ‘Samyam‘ has various meanings like check, restraint, control, prevention and mental concentration. Uttama Samyam i.e., Supreme self-restraint is one of the ten virtues […]

Uttama Satya Dharma – Supreme Truthfulness

– Muni Sri Kamkumarnandi Maharaj Truth is the speech of inward purity.                                          – Sir Edwin Arnold The word ‘satya’ (truth) has been derived by the addition of the suffix ‘yat’ with the root ‘sat’ (satya) are prevalent in common use; e.g. truthful, real, genuine, honest, loyal, non-deceitful or truth speaking. “Satsu prshastaishu janaishu […]

Uttama Shaucha Dharma-Supreme Contentment / Purity

– Muni Sri Kamkumarnandi Maharaj The word ‘Shauch‘ is a compound word derived by adding the suffix ‘anr‘ with the word ‘shuchi‘ to mean ‘shucherbhav shauchanam’. It means sacredness, cleanliness, to be pure, to be clean, to be spotless and to be non-greedy. The humanitarian approach to lessen the miseries of living beings is included […]

Uttama Arjava Dharma-Supreme Uprightness / Honesty

– Muni Sri Kamkumarnandi Maharaj A renowned English poet writes about uprightness: A man of life upright Whose guiltless heart is free From all dishonest deeds, Or thoughts of vanity. The Hindi word ‘Arjava’ is a compound word framed by the addition of the suffix ‘anr’ with the root ‘riju’ i.e., riju + anr. The […]

Uttama Mardava Dharma – Supreme Tenderness

– Muni Sri Kamkumarnandi Maharaj Compassion or supreme tenderness (Uttam Mardav) gets the second place amidst the ten tenets of Jainism. In the book ‘Sarvartha Siddhi’ the reverend Acharya Pujya Pad Swamy tells the meaning of compassion (Mardav); “Mridorbhavi mardvam” The feeling of humility or tenderness is compassion. Compassion (Mardav) is explained to mean:            “Jatyadimadaveshadbhimanabhavo […]

Uttama Kshama Dharma – Supreme Forgiveness

– Muni Sri Kamkumarnandi Maharaj The word ‘Kshama‘ is derived from the root by the addition of the suffix ang and tap. The word ‘Kshama‘ means patience, forbearance and pardon. “Kshama shatro ch mitre ch yatinamev bhushanam” (Hito) To pardon an enemy or a friend both, is the jewel of Yatis. “Kshama virasey bhushanam” – […]

Paryushana or Dashalakshana Parva

– Dr.H.A.Parshwanath & Nitin H.P. Jainism has immensely contributed for the idealistic and pluralistic patron of leading life. Non violence remains its locus in all its tenements as the main principle. Its principles remain incessantly and eternally in their modus operandi of religions of the world. It strives to make ones life sublime and celestial […]

Mahavira Jayanthi / Janmakalyana

This festival, connected with the great auspicious event of the birth of Lord Mahavira is celebrated with great pomp and enthusiasm by all Jainas. Processions are taken out, meetings are held and the message of Mahavira is explained to all.


Along with Hindus the Jainas also celebrate the festival of Deepavali/Diwali. For the Jainas, Diwali is an important festival, because on this day Mahavira is supposed to have attained nirvana. In many temples of Digambara sect sweet balls are offered. Divali is also important for Jainas as it marks le beginning of their new year. […]

Kartik Purnima

By the full moon day of Kartik (around November), Karyik Purnima, the monks and nuns ,tart to wander further after having stayed at one place for the rainy period. On this day the monks are taken out of the town in a procession and a few people even accompany the monks to the next town […]


This festival is observed in April. On this day sugarcane juice is ritually offered to those who have observed various types of fasts through out the year. According to jaina literature, on this day Rsabhanatha, the first tirthankara, received in accordance with the religious ritual in the form of sugar-cane juice for the first time […]

Siddhachakra or Navadevata Puja

Siddhacakra or Navadevata diagram (the circle of the Siddha, the omniscient one) consists of a stylised lotus with eight petals. In the centre Id in four petals of the lotus are depictions of the five highest Beings of the Jainas, namely Arhat, the enlightened one, Siddha, the liberated one, Acharya, the head monk, Upadhyaya, the […]

error: Jain Heritage Centres - Celebrating Jain Heritage.....Globally!