Home » Jainism » Jain Symbols » Ashta Mangala

Ashta Mangala

These are eight auspicious symbols –

  • Swastika
  • Shrivasta (an auspicious sign on the chest)
  • Nandhyavarta (complex swastika)
  • Vardhamanaka
  • Bhadràsana (a holy seat)
  • Kalasha (Holy pitcher)
  • Minyugala (Fish-couple) and
  • Darpana (Mirror).

They have been considered auspicious since time immemorial and have been depicted in the Kalpasutra. According to the scriptures every Jain has to draw them with pure un-broken rice-grains before the icon of the Tirthankar. Some have reduced this custom to the drawing of a swastika, along with three heaps of rice-grain symbolising knowledge, vision and character.